Le Mans, France - June 1955

The 23rd Annual 24 Hours of Le Mans was held on June 11-12 at the historic Circuit de La Sarthe, in 1955. Juan Manuel Fangio and Stirling Moss made up one of three cars in an all-star team assembled by Daimler-Benz, in an effort to win both the World Driving and World Sports Car championship. Pictured here leading the race is the Jaguar D-Type from duo Mike Hawthorn/Ivor Bueb, shortly followed by Fangio/Moss in their #19 Mercedes-Benz 300SLR. The latter would go on to retire from the race following a catastrophic accident cause by Hawthorn that became known as the 1955 Le Mans disaster.